World Award of Education

The José Vasconcelos World Award of Education is granted to a renowned educator, an authority in the field of teaching, or someone who has brought about visionary development in education policy. Through their work, the individual or team should have had a significantly positive influence on the quality and reach of teaching and learning in our society.

The qualifying jury is formed of several members of the Interdisciplinary Committee and a group of distinguished educators.

The World Award of Education grants a Diploma, a Commemorative medal, and an Award Cheque.

José Vasconcelos (1882-1959)

Mexican educator, essayist and philosopher. He served as Rector of the University of Mexico, after which he was appointed Minister of Public Education (1920-1924), during this time, he initiated major reforms in the Mexican school system, especially expanding the rural school program.

His philosophy, which he called “Aesthetic Monism”, essentially an attempt to deal with the world as a cosmic unity, is set forth in Todología (1952). His five volume autobiography, Ulises Criollo (1935, “Ulysses Creole”), La Tormenta (1936, “The Storm”), El Desastre (1938, “The Disaster”), El Proconsulado (1939 “The Proconsulship”) La Flama (1959, “The Flame”), is one of the finest sociocultural studies of the 20th Century in México.

Among his other principal works are: La Raza Cósmica (1925, “The Cosmic Race”) and Bolivarismo y Monroísmo (1934, “Bolivarism and Monroism”).

Education Award Winners

Related Articles

2023 Award Ceremony

The World Cultural Council and the University of Helsinki are delighted to announce that the 38th WCC Award Ceremony will take place in the Great


On This Page



2023 Event Location

Event Website

University of Helsinki

You can find additional information about the event on the University of Helsinki 2023 WCC Awards website