World Award of Arts

The Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts is an acknowledgment to those who lift our existence to a higher level by the beauty or inspiration of their creative talent.

It is conferred on a renowned artist, sculptor, writer, poet, cinematographer, photographer, architect, musician or other performing, creative or visionary artist, whose work constitutes a significant contribution to the artistic legacy of the world.

The qualifying jury is constituted of internationally renowned artists, authorities, and members of the World Cultural Council.

The prize consists of a diploma, a commemorative medal and an Award Cheque.

Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519)

A universal man, Leonardo possessed a spirit of scientific inquiry and mechanical inventiveness that was centuries ahead of its time. His genius as a painter, draftsman, sculptor, architect and engineer exemplified the Renaissance Humanist ideal.

The unfolding of his genius occurred during the 17 years he spent as painter and engineer for the Duke of Milan. Leonardo´s surviving works consist mainly of a few paintings, as well as a large number of drawings, scientific diagrams, and notes on diverse subjects. His “Last Supper” (1495-1497) and “Mona Lisa” (La Gioconda 1503-1506) are among the most popular and influential paintings of the Renaissance. Also well known are “The Virgin of the Rocks” (1483-1485), “The Virgin and Child with St. Anne” (1499) and his “Self Portrait”.

Despite the fragmentary nature of his surviving achievements, his genius will continue to live as a legacy of knowledge to inspire the imagination of modern man.

Art Award Winners

On This Page



2023 Event Location

Event Website

University of Helsinki

You can find additional information about the event on the University of Helsinki 2023 WCC Awards website