Hong Kong 2018 – City University of Hong Kong

2018 ceremony at City University of Hong Kong, featuring speakers on stage
Dr. Choi Yuk-lin Under Secretary for Education, HKSAR Government delivering her address at the 35th World Cultural Council Award Ceremony, Hong Kong, 8 November 2018
Date: 8 November 2018
Place of Ceremony: Wong Cheung Lo Hui Yuet Hall, 5/F Lau Ming Wai Academic Building
Host Institution: City University of Hong Kong
Host Country: Hong Kong

Professor Jean-Pierre Changeux, Emeritus Professor of Neuroscience at the Institut Pasteur and Collège de France, where he was Chair of Cellular Communications from 1976 to 2006, and at the International Faculty, Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind, University of California (San Diego), received the 2018 Albert Einstein World Award of Science. Professor Malik Mâaza of the University of South Africa (UNISA) and at iThemba LABS-National Research Foundation, South Africa, and holder of the UNESCO-UNISA Africa Chair in Nanosciences and Nanotechnology, UNESCO, was awarded the 2018 José Vasconcelos World Award of Education. The awards were delivered by Professor Way Kuo, President of CityU, Professor Sir Colin Blakemore, President of the WCC, and Dr Choi Yuk-lin, Under Secretary for Education, HKSAR Government and Esteban M. Wild, Executive Director World Cultural Council.

The nine promising young CityU research leaders are Dr Ray Cheung Chak-chung, Associate Professor, Department of Electronic Engineering; Dr Johnny Ho Chung-yin, Associate Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering; Dr Lam Miu-ling, Associate Professor, School of Creative Media; Dr Patrick Lee Kwan-hon, Associate Professor and Associate Dean, School of Energy and Environment; Dr Eddie Ma Chi-him, Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences; Dr Shi Peng, Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering; Professor Wang Zuankai, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Dr Zhang Xiaoling, Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy; and Dr Zheng Bo, Assistant Professor, School of Creative Media.

They were recognized with a commemorative diploma during the ceremony.

For more information on:

  • Special Lecture by Professor Jean-Pierre Changeux, 2018 “Albert Einstein” World Award of Science winner: The acetylcholine nicotinic receptor: from chemistry to cognition
  • Special Lecture by Professor Malik Mâaza, 2018 “José Vasconcelos” World Award of Education winner: Nanosciences & Nanotechnologies: A multidisciplinary approach for a sustainable inclusive future for humanity
  • Special Lecture by Professor Sir Colin Blakemore, President, World Cultural Council: How the brain creates the human mind

Please visit:


Video of the 2018 Award Ceremony


On This Page



2024 Event Location

World map showing next event location

McGill University, Canada

Event Website

McGill University

You can find additional information about the event on the McGill University 2024 WCC Awards website