WCC Announces New Members of the Interdisciplinary Committee



The World Cultural Council (WCC) is pleased to announce the names of new members who have recently accepted invitations to affiliate its Interdisciplinary Committee. They join our list of remarkable individuals who are role models through their experience, achievements and scholarship. Their mission as members of the jury will be of enormous value in the annual selection of the laureates, helping us to maintain our standards of discernment and excellence.

Professor Sir Colin Blakemore, President of the WCC, said: “The willingness of so many leaders of research and education to join the Interdisciplinary Committee is a sign of growing respect for the WCC and the prizes that it bestows. These new members of the Committee will help the WCC to select world-leading candidates for its prizes.”

New Members of the Interdisciplinary Committee

René Asomoza Palacio, General Director, ILCE (Latin American Institute of Educational Communication), Mexico City, Mexico

Angelo Azzi, Senior Scientist, Vascular Biology Laboratory, Tufts University, Boston,

Joan F. Brennecke, Keating-Crawford Professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, USA

Arup Chakraborty, Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering, MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA

Consuelo M. De Moraes, Professor, Laboratory of Biocommunication, Institute of Agricultural Sciences, ETH (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology), Zurich, Switzerland

John P. Dempsey, Professor of Mechanics of Sea Ice, Clarkson University, NY, USA

Kim Doochul, Emeritus Professor of Seoul National University, Seoul, South Korea

Larry Dubinski, President and CEO, Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, USA

Sonja Fielitz, Professor, Department of English and American Studies, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Marburg, Germany

Gerhard Ertl, Emeritus Professor, Department of Physical Chemistry, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck- Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany

Irvy (Igle) Gledhill, President, South African Institute of Physics, Pretoria, South Africa

David Gross, Chancellor’s Chair Professor of Theoretical Physics, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Sören Illman, Emeritus Professor, Mathematics University of Helsinki, Helsinki,

Julia M. Kubanek, Professor, School of Biology and School of Chemistry & Biochemistry, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA

Markku Kulmala, Professor, Atmospheric Sciences Division, University of Helsinki,

Rafael Lemaitre, Curator of Crustacea, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Suitland, MD USA

Yukitaka Murakami, Emeritus Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering Science, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan

Risto Nieminen, Academician and Distinguished Professor of Applied Physics, Aalto University, Finland

Elisabeth Rachlew, Professor in Applied Atomic and Molecular Physics, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Junuthula N. Reddy, Distinguished Professor, Regents’ Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, Texas A&M University, Texas, USA

Leonīds Ribickis, Rector, Riga Technical University, Riga, Latvia

Mark S. Schlissel, President, University of Michigan, MI, USA

Jukka Seppälä, Professor Polymer technology, Aalto University, Finland

Minh Quang Tran, President, Swiss Physical Society, Lausanne, Switzerland

About the WCC

The World Cultural Council (WCC), an international organization based in Mexico, seeks to promote tolerance, peace and fraternity by encouraging the use of science, art and education to further the wellbeing of humanity. Since 1984 it has awarded prizes in Science (the Albert Einstein annual award) and in Art or Education (the Leonardo da Vinci and José Vasconcelos biannual awards) to outstanding figures who have enriched our cultural legacy through their respective discipline and serve as inspirational examples for future generations.

The prizes are granted at an Award Ceremony hosted by a renowned university or other institution. The hosts of the most recent ceremonies were the University of Dundee, Scotland (2015), Aalto University, Finland (2014), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (2013) and Aarhus University, Denmark (2012).

Further details of past venues and laureates, as well as the awards and objectives of the WCC, can be found on our website https://www.consejoculturalmundial.org

World Cultural Council
Public Relations Department