Announcement of 2019 Winners


Winners of World Cultural Council awards announced –
Award Ceremony to be held in Japan for first time

Dr. Zhong Lin Wang


The winner of the 2019 ALBERT EINSTEIN World Award of Science is Dr. Zhong Lin Wang, Chair and Regents Professor, School of Materials Science & Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology, USA. Read More.
Paulo Branco


The 2019 LEONARDO DA VINCI World Award of Arts will be presented to Portuguese independent film producer, Paulo Branco.
Read More.

The 2019 Award Ceremony

This year the World Cultural Council (WCC) will celebrate its 36th Award Ceremony on Friday 4th October 2019 at the University of Tsukuba, Japan, in the framework of the Tsukuba Conference.

It will be a very special occasion for the WCC to hold its Award Ceremony within the frame of the Tsukuba Conference. Bringing together global leaders in the field of science, technology and innovation, the conference will engender opportunities for these to express their visions of the future and to meet potential partners for solving a diverse range of social issues.

As part of the programme, the WCC, in cooperation with the University of Tsukuba, organizes laureate lectures that create an opportunity for interaction between the community and the winners. These lectures will take place on Friday 4th October.

During the Award Ceremony, the World Cultural Council will grant special acknowledgements to young researchers or scholars from Japan who have achieved outstanding performance in science or the arts.

The ten promising young research leaders are: Dr. Shinichi Enami, Senior Researcher, National Institute for Environmental Studies; Dr. Yasunori Ichihashi, Team Leader, BioResource Research Center, RIKEN (Institute of Physical and Chemical Research); Dr. Kazuhiro Ikeda, Research Group Leader, Photonics System Group, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology; Dr. Yasunori Kikuchi, Associate Professor, Institute for Future Initiatives, The University of Tokyo; Dr. Masayuki Matsumoto, Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Tsukuba; Dr. Hiroyuki Miyauchi, Senior Research Engineer, Building Research Institute; Dr. Yuko Shimada, Assistant Professor, Life Science Center for Survival Dynamics, Tsukuba Advanced Research Alliance, University of Tsukuba; Dr. Ken-ichi Uchida, Group Leader, Spin Caloritronics Group, National Institute for Materials Science; Dr. Yutaka Ushiroda, Professor, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization and Dr. Taiyo Yoshioka, Researcher, The National Agriculture and Food Research Organization.

They will each receive a commemorative Diploma for their impressive work at such an early stage of their careers.

For further information please visit: