Denmark 2012 – Aarhus University

2012 WCC ceremony at Aarhus University, with attendees and speakers on stage.
Fom left: Professor Mette Thunø, Jean-Pierre Swings, Professor Brian Bech Nielsen, Jussi Nuorteva, Professor Edmond H. Fischer, Maestro José Estrada, Dr. Esteban M. Wild and Martha Barcena Coqui members of the presidium at the 29th World Cultural Council Award Ceremony, Denmark, 18 April 2012
Date: 18 April 2012
Place of Ceremony: The Main Hall
Host Institution: Aarhus University
Host Country: Aarhus, Denmark

(Aarhus, Denmark. April 18, 2012). The World Cultural Council celebrated it´s 29th Award Ceremony at Aarhus University, within the framework of the conference Excellence Revisited – the Value of Excellence. The conference has been one of the major events of the Danish EU Presidency 2012 and was jointly hosted by the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Higher Education, the Danish National Research Foundation, the Lundbeck Foundation, the Danish Council for Independent Research and Aarhus University.

Professor Michael Grätzel, Director of the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland received the 2012 Albert Einstein World Award of Science from Rector Lauritz B. Holm-Nielsen of Aarhus University, Edmond H. Fischer, President of the World Cultural Council and authorities of the World Cultural Council.

“It is a great honor and privilege for me to receive the Albert Einstein World Award of Science. I am very grateful to the members of the Interdisciplinary Committee for having chosen me as the year 2012 laureate of this prestigious prize.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank my coworkers for their relentless efforts, which have contributed so much to the success of our research.”

Professor Michael Grätzel

Prof. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht, Albert Guérard Professor in Literature in the Departments of Comparative Literature of French & Italian, Spanish & Portuguese at Stanford University, USA received the 2012 José Vasconcelos World Award of Education from Edmond H. Fischer, President of the World Cultural Council, Lauritz B. Holm-Nielsen, Rector of Aarhus University and authorities of the World Cultural Council.

“… the Vasconcelos Award and my gratitude will motivate me to pursue, as a teacher, during the remaining years of my academic career: I will do my best to be and to become an aging man whose enthusiasm for the great western traditions of literature and philosophy may ignite the — different — enthusiasm of those who are just entering the grown-up stage of their lives.”

Prof. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht

Videos from World Cultural Council Award 2012 at Aarhus University

World Cultural Council Opening Ceremony from Aarhus Universitet on Vimeo.

Excellence 2012: Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht: “After 1945: About the emergence of a new relation to time” from Aarhus Universitet on Vimeo.

Excellence 2012: Edmund H. Fischer: The origin of reversible protein phosporylation as a regulatory mechanism from Aarhus Universitet on Vimeo.

World Cultural Council – Michael Grätzel from Aarhus Universitet on Vimeo.

World Cultural Council – Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht from Aarhus Universitet on Vimeo.


On This Page



2024 Event Location

World map showing next event location

McGill University, Canada

Event Website

McGill University

You can find additional information about the event on the McGill University 2024 WCC Awards website