Call for nominations for the 2023 Awards is now open

Deadline: December 16, 2022

The World Cultural Council is now accepting nominations for the 2023 Albert Einstein and the José Vasconcelos Awards. Nominations must be submitted by December 16, 2022.

Nominees for the Albert Einstein World Award of Science should be eminent scientists whose achievements can serve as an inspiration for future generations. Considerations will be given to individuals or institutions in one of the Life Sciences, such as Environmental Sciences, Biology, Biochemistry, Medicine or Chemistry; or in one of the Natural Sciences such as Physics, Mathematics or Astronomy. The prize is awarded every year.

A candidate for the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education should be a renowned educator, an authority in the field of teaching, or an individual who has promoted education policies. Through his/her work, the individual or team should have had a significant influence on the advancement of culture for mankind. The prize is awarded every second year.

In addition to considering the candidate’s breakthrough achievements, the jury will also take into account the service which each has made to mankind and his/her qualities as a role model who inspires future generations to contribute to a better world.

To nominate online or for further details of the awards, please see nomination form and requirements.

The 37th Award Ceremony will be hosted by the University of Coimbra, Portugal to be held on November 30, 2022. This will be the first time in the history of the awards programme where all three WCC prizes will be presented at the same event.

For further information on the 2022 Award Ceremony please visit

On This Page



2022 Event Location

Event Website

University of Coimbra

You can find additional information about the event on the University of Coimbra 2022 WCC Awards website